Hi again! It’s more than a little embarrassing to come back to this blog after roughly a year. In my defence, I did have a whole post on ethical fashion drafted a few months back, only to lose it when I accidentally clicked off the page. Catch me doing that again, she says, as she hurriedly switches to microsoft word.

I’ve been wanting to update this blog for a while now, partly because I want to have a good backlog of posts before I link anyone to it, but mostly because I feel like I haven’t been doing much in the way of creating lately. I had a lot of ideas about what university would be like, and so far it’s very good – but also drastically different to what I expected. One major difference is that I thought I would be involved in either a drama or creative writing society – but as neither of those exist at Aston, it being a small, science and business-based uni, I feel like I haven’t had many opportunities to express myself creatively.

This is, of course, ridiculous. I am realising that one of the things that is so great about the arts is that you don’t need a formal, structured environment in order to write, or sketch, or sing. This gives me two options: either I can sit around bemoaning my wasted potential, or I can roll up my sleeves and get on with it.

